Sign In
Board of Education


Custodial Services Safety, Energy, and Environmental
Dedicated to providing the highest quality service of care, construction and maintenance of the school facilities.



In an effort to comply with Federal EPA guidelines the Burke County School System is tasked with the responsibility of identifying and managing those schools that contain asbestos building materials. The Asbestos Management Plans contain a three step process of identification:

: (the identification of materials that possibly could contain asbestos)
Second: (take samples of suspect materials and have them analyzed by a certified testing laboratory)
Third: (develop a plan to monitor and manage the condition of any asbestos identified within the school system).

Each school administrative office has a complete and updated copy of the management plan designed for that school.  Management plans are available for review, without cost or restriction, to workers before work begins in any area of a school building.  Management plans are also available for inspection by representatives of EPA,
N.C. Dept. of Health and Human Services, parents, teachers, school employees, and the public within five working days after receiving a request for the inspection of these files.

Schools / Facilities with No Asbestos:
Drexel Junior High School (now Harry L. Hallyburton Elementary School)
East Burke Middle School (was East Junior High)
Heritage Middle School 
Human Resource Center – Administrative Offices 
Liberty Middle School (was Liberty Junior High) 
Ray Childers Elementary School
School Bus Garage 
Table Rock Middle School 
W.A. Young Elementary School 
Walter Johnson Middle School
W. Concord Resource Center
R.L. Patton High 
J.C. Draughn High

Schools / Facilities with Chesterfield Elementary School Asbestos
College Street School (was Burke Alternative West School) 
Drexel Elementary School (now Drexel Primary School) 
East Burke High School 
Forest Hill Elementary School 
Freedom High School 
George Hildebrand Elementary School 
Glen Alpine Elementary School 
Hildebran Elementary School 
Hildebran Annex 
Mountain Crest Elementary School 
Icard Elementary School 
Mountain View Elementary School 
Mull Elementary School 
Oak Hill Elementary School 
Rutherford College Elementary School 
Salem Elementary School 
Valdese Elementary School 
Maintenance Department – Warehouse I/II

All records of sample analysis, management plans, and rules or regulations governing the asbestos program are available for inspection at my office. My office is located in the Maintenance complex on Kirksey Drive. Office hours are from 8:00 – 5:00 Monday thru Friday. My phone number is 828-438-0546.

Reference: Federal Register 40 CFR 763

Robert L. Bonner
LEA Designee


 Asbestos Program Designee

There are no items to show in this view of the "Asbestos Program Designee" document library.

 Safety Minutes



Unable to display this Web Part. To troubleshoot the problem, open this Web page in a Microsoft SharePoint Foundation-compatible HTML editor such as Microsoft SharePoint Designer. If the problem persists, contact your Web server administrator.

Correlation ID:bd855981-4948-451b-85e5-399d9f8a9565

 Injury Scorecards

January 2013 Scorecard
Upcoming Events
There are currently no upcoming events.