Health Requirements

Health Requirements

Required health assessment 

State law requires that every child entering public schools in N.C. for the first time receive a health assessment. The assessment must occur within 12 months prior to entering school. The medical provider, parent or guardian is encouraged to provide a completed health assessment transmittal form to school on or before the child's first day of attendance

·       Health Assessment Form  

A parent or guardian has 30 calendar days from the first day of attendance to present the required proof of immunization and health assessment according to state law.

 

Immunizations

North Carolina General Statutes (G.S. 130A-155) require that a parent or guardian of any child enrolled in public schools must present proof of immunization at the time of enrollment for the minimum requirements as specified in the law.

It is the parent's or guardian's responsibility to provide written proof of immunization within thirty (30) calendar days from the first day of attendance.

Do not depend upon school records to arrive from another school system since records may arrive late or with incomplete or unacceptable medical information. If you cannot secure a certified immunization record, contact your physician or Burke County Health Department. If the completion of a new immunization series should run beyond the 30-day period, a physician's written statement that a series is in progress showing the anticipated completion date will allow the student to remain in school.

A parent or guardian has 30 calendar days form the first day of attendance to present the required proof of immunization according to state law. 

For specific North Carolina immunization requirements, please visit: http://www.immunize.nc.gov/schools/k-12.htm

What immunizations does your child need?

State law requires these vaccinations  before a student enters kindergarten and 7th grade.